Dear love: I am struggling.


Dear love,

As you know, I am struggling with your transition because it means we can’t have a child for a long time.

This is really hard for me because I feel like I’m a bad person for being sad. I want to be able to be just filled with joy for you, and supportive in every way. Yet there is a part of me that is grieving the loss of the little family in the near future that I had envisioned, in the ways I had envisioned it. Suddenly the road just got really complicated and hard for us both and I’ll admit: I’m pissing my pants.

I am so glad you have found a way to be more of yourself, to become who you want and need to be. I never wanted to stop you and though it hurts for now, I think our choices are the right choices.

I hope you understand that my sadness is a separate entity from my gladness. It is hard to feel at once like you believe in what you are doing, believe in the person you love and what they are doing with their life, and also feel like you want to throw a lamp through your window in total crushing disappointment. Also I am freaking my shit out about having to face IVF one day maybe. With the chance of pregnancy loss being so high, and the chance of success so low, it is a really frightening prospect for me. So, it is pretty strange to accommodate competing emotions like that.

I know this is really hard for you, in different and similar ways. You didn’t choose to have a partner who is baby crazy any more than I chose a partner who needed to inhabit their gender so it makes sense. We’re just awesome like that, and we’re doing our best with some awkwardly competing needs. I love our communication and how it is so honest.

I want to thank you for being truthful with me about what you really needed even though it wasn’t what I wanted to hear. Thanks for holding my hand and letting me cry in a crowded restaurant. Thanks for not making me feel like a selfish bitch for being sad. And thank god for napkins, hey.

I hope we can grow together and maybe one day make a really attractive toddler that at least three other kids in daycare crush out on.

Also, I might be kinda weepy sometimes about this. I hope not too often. I hope you understand.

xx so much love and hope,

Bettie.

About laketothelight

Feminist. Tea drinker. Cat snuggler. Canadian marryer. Queer. Fat. Lover of movement. View all posts by laketothelight

4 responses to “Dear love: I am struggling.

  • fooddeybe

    Deep, please tell me what you think about the articles on this blog; http://whyshudi.wordpress.com

  • Peter

    What they say must be right … love can be grand. Laughing and crying in the same paragraph takes more than honesty. The main ingredient in that particularly potent emotional soup is trust.

    Its enough to make an old man remove his comfortable old gown of cynicism and reach for his mulit-coloured coat in order to gel with such a day when two people can love each other with such truthfulness.

    Ah Bettie … you are becoming so much more than your dreams.

  • Chance Of Pregnancy | Healthy Pregnancy Guide

    […] the Chance Of Pregnancy loss being so high, and the chance of success so low, it is a really frightening prospect for me. […]

  • Daisy Little

    Hey B,
    This is probably a dumb question but have you considered freezing B’s sperm before she transitions? I can recommend a queer friendly doctor (Nyrie Dodd in Alice Street, Newtown) and the fertility clinic that my ex & I visited (Fertility East in Bondi Junction)….I hope it all works out for you.

Leave a Reply

